Top 10 Television Series Like Tom Jones.

Gwyneth Hughes has adapted the upcoming four-part miniseries from one of the first novels of English literature- ‘The History of Tom Jones, A Foundling’ by…

Published: March 14th, 2023 6:11 am | Updated: March 14, 2023 6:11 am

Gwyneth Hughes has adapted the upcoming four-part miniseries from one of the first novels of English literature- ‘The History of Tom Jones, A Foundling’ by one of the first English novelists Henry Fielding.

The plot will center on an illegitimate young man as he falls in love with an heiress. British actor Solly McLeod and Australian actress Sophie Wilde have been cast as Tom and Sophia in the upcoming series. It is set to be released on 30th April 2023 on PBS.

Here is a list of a number of other television series adapted from various British classics.

Also Read: Is Class Season 2 Officially Renewed by Netflix?

Top 10 Television Series Like Tom Jones.

David Copperfield – Number of Seasons: 1

David Copperfield
Prime Video

Adrian Hodges adapted this two-part drama from the 1850 same-named novel of Charles Dickens for BBC. Simon Curtis has directed this series the story of which is a semi-autobiography of the author himself.

The series ran for two episodes which arrived on the 25th and 26th December of 1999. The character of a young David Copperfield is the acting debut of Daniel Radcliffe who will later be seen acquiring prominence through the titular role of the Harry Potter film series in which he collaborated with five of his ‘David Copperfield co-stars- Maggie Smith, Imelda Staunton, Zoë Wanamaker, Dawn French, Paul Whitehouse.

Daniel Deronda – Number of Seasons: 1

Daniel Deronda

Tom Hooper directed this British television serial drama adapted from the 1876 same-named novel of George Eliot adapted by Andrew Davies which presents the journey of life of an intelligent man with obscure origin.

Hugh Dancy portrayed the titular role with Romola Garai starring as the heroine Gwendolen Harleth. It ran from 23rd November to 7th December of 2002 on BBC1.

Pride and Prejudice – Number of Seasons: 1

Pride and Prejudice

Andrew Davies adapted this British television drama from Jane Austen’s popular same-named novel of 1813.

Jennifer Ehle portrayed Elizabeth Bennet with Colin Firth starring as Fitzwilliam Darcy in the series.

It won a number of accolades including Ehle winning a BAFTA Television Award under the category of Best Actress. It ran from 24th September to 29th October of 1995.

Brideshead Revisited – Number of Seasons: 1

Brideshead Revisited
The New York Times

Mostly directed by Charles Sturridge, this British television serial is an adaptation of English author Evelyn Waugh’s novel ‘Brideshead Revisited’.

Jeremy Irons and Anthony Andrews portrayed Charles Ryder and Lord Sebastian Flyte in the series. It ran from 12th October to 22nd December of 1981.

Jane Eyre – Number of Seasons: 1

Jane Eyre

This BBC1 adaptation of Charlotte Brontë’s same-named 1847 novel is directed by Julian Amyes. The plot revolves around an orphan woman’s journey from a young age to adulthood through experiences of education, love, and life as a whole.

Zelah Clarke and Timothy Dalton were cast as Jane Eyre and Edward Rochester respectively in the series. It ran from 9th October to 18th December 1983.

Sanditon – Number of Seasons: 3

Radio Times

Andrew Davies adapted this British historical drama series from Jane Austen’s renowned unfinished manuscript. It is in the Regency era and centers on a naive young woman’s experience of life through navigating the titular seaside resort.

Rose Williams portrayed the protagonist Charlotte Heywood in the series. It premiered on 25th August 2019.

Great Expectations – Number of Seasons: 1

Great Expectations
Radio Times

This British television serial is the first-ever adaptation of Charles Dickens ‘Great Expectations’ and was vastly popular at the time of its release and is able to stand up well even today despite the lack of budget and scale compared to the next adaptations.

It cast Gary Bond, Francesca Annis, and Maxine Audley as Pip, Estella, and Miss Havisham. It ran from 22nd January to 26th March of 1967.

Lady Chatterley – Number of Seasons: 1

Lady Chatterley

This is a BBC1 adaptation of D. H. Lawrence’s renowned novel 1928- ‘Lady Chatterley’s Lover’. The plot revolves around a woman’s affair with a groundskeeper after her husband becomes s*xually inactive coming back wounded from the First World War.

The story deals with the theme of s*xual taboos and the British class system of that time. Joely Richardson portrayed the titular character in the series that ran from 6th June to 27th June of 1993.

Emma – Number of Seasons: 1

Lady Chatterley

This is a four-part adaptation of Jane Austen’s popular novel ‘Emma’. Romola Garai portrayed the famous character of Emma Woodhouse in the series. The adaptation is done by BAFTA award-winning writer Sandy Welch.

It was nominated for four Primetime Emmy nominations including one win. It ran from 4th October to 25th October 2009 on BBC1.

Oliver Twist – Number of Seasons: 1

Oliver Twist

This controversial adaptation of Dickens’ 1838 same-named novel adds a two hours long backstory much of which is invented by scriptwriter Alan Bleasdale.

Also, the story changes almost every detail keeping the main idea intact. Sam Smith portrayed the titular character in the series that ran from 28th November to 19th December 1999.